

Operations
Provincial Programs

2nd Floor, Petroleum Plaza, South Tower 9915 – 108 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5K 2G8

Canada

Telephone: 780-427-5828 http://ea.alberta.ca

July 28, 2018

Syed Abbas, Director Alberta Transportation Twin Atria Building, Second Floor 4999-98 Avenue Edmonton, AB T6B 2X3

Dear Mr. Abbas:

Re: Alberta Transportation Proposed Springbank Off-Stream Reservoir Project

NRCB Application No. 1701 Water Act No. 00387101

Alberta Environment and Parks (AEP), the Natural Resources Conservation Board (NRCB) and associated government agencies have reviewed the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) report received on October 2017 and March 2018 filed in support of the *Water Act* File No. 00387101 and the NRCB Application No. 1701.

The attached Supplemental Information Request represents a combined list of deficiencies, including those identified in the EIA review led by AEP and those advanced by the NRCB. A response to the Supplemental Information Request is required to complete the evaluation of the EIA report and to provide the NRCB with information necessary to evaluate your application.

The Rules of Practice of the Natural Resources Conservation Board (AR 77/2005) require that they receive and confirm an adequate response to the attached list of deficiencies prior to publishing a Notice of Application. Although this deficiency list is comprehensive, it is possible that the NRCB or AEP may identify further information needs, prior to issuing any decisions. If so, we will notify you immediately.

Should you have any questions AEP and NRCB staff are available to you and your consultants to discuss the requirements and clarify the purpose of the items in the attached request. Please contact your EA Coordinator for a Supplemental Information Request Response distribution list.

Sincerely,

Meghan Jurijew Acting on Behalf of Heather Dent Senior Manager, Assessment and Continuations

Provincial Programs

(Designated Director, Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act)

cc: Laura Friend (NRCB) Jennifer Graydon (Health)
Jennifer Howe (CEAA) Kevin Wilkinson (AEP)
Barry Newton (Culture and Tourism) Melanie Daneluk (AEP)